

The Georgia Society of CPAs Meritorious Service Award Guidelines

The Meritorious Service Award is the most prestigious award presented by The Georgia Society of CPAs and is awarded to a member who has provided outstanding service to the accounting profession and the Society.

- 1. Individual recognized should be, but not limited to, someone in the accounting profession.
- 2. The award may be given posthumously.
- 3. No more than one award shall be given annually. However, it is not required that an award is given. This decision is left entirely to the discretion of the Awards Committee.
- 4. The chair of the Awards Committee will present the award at the Annual Convention.
- 5. Criteria:
 - a. The individual shall have shown outstanding commitment to the Society and the accounting profession.
 - b. The individual shall have given outstanding service to the profession, or could be recognized for a single accomplishment that came to fruition during the course of one year. The accomplishment must have resulted in a significant and profound impact on the profession.
 - c. The individual may be recognized for longevity and dedication of service; such service must be distinctive and exceedingly above the services provided by his/her contemporaries.
 - d. The individual is one who upholds the highest standards of the accounting profession.
- 6. Nominations are accepted from any member of The Georgia Society of CPAs with the exception of Meritorious Service Award Committee members. All nominations must be submitted to the Meritorious Service Awards Committee for consideration.
- 7. Nominations will remain on file and under consideration for five years.
- 8. Past winners are not eligible for renomination for the Meritorious Service Award.



Meritorious Service Award Nomination Application Deadline: December 31, 2018

Nominee	Date
Title	
Employer	
Employer Address	
Brief summary as to why this nominee should be	considered.
Are you willing to write a letter of recommendation Yes No	on for this nominee?
Nominator:	Phone:
Email address: *Nominations will remain on file for five years.	
 Submission Information Mail: Outstanding Member in Industry Au Suite 800, Atlanta, Georgia, 30328 Fax: 404-237-1291 	ward, GSCPA, Six Concourse Parkway,

• Email: Missy Ureda at mureda@gscpa.org

Questions? Contact Missy Ureda at 404-504-2956 or mureda@gscpa.org



Prior Meritorious Service Award Winners

2018 Colin E. Blalock 2017 James L. Underwood 2016 Royce Duncan 2015 Ronald B. Bobo 2014 Donald R. Roland 2013 Charles W. Hendry 2012 Brad C. Dickson, Sr. 2011 Michael W. Skinner 2010 Ruth A. Bartlett 2009 Harvey E. Tarpley 2008 Robert L. McCorkle Jr. 2007 J. Sam Johnson 2006 Howard Herman 2005 S. Scott Voynich 2004 Edward H. Rudert 2003 William J. Bomar 2002 James P. Martin Jr 2001 Nelson C. Westbrooks Jr. 2000 Julian I. Deal 1999 Herbert E. Miller 1998 Robert E. Minnear 1997 J. Allen Poole 1996 John W. Cook 1995 Lamar W. Davis Sr. 1994 Richard Q. Conrad 1993 Julius M. Johnson 1992 John R. Jones 1991 Ben W. Brannon 1990 Herbert G. Allshouse 1989 Philip H. Dohn Jr. 1988 Wilbert H. Schwotzer 1987 P. Martin Ellard 1986 J. Bradley Haynes 1985 Harvey D. Ogletree 1984 James Bates 1983 Charles W. Jenkins 1982 Elizabeth & Martin Sterling 1981 Claude Hamrick 1980 Mack Barnes Sr. 1979 Waldo Sowell 1978 Harold Heckman